You are here


Educators receive NCCAT's Jean P. Powell Honored Educator Scholarship

We are honored to have NCCAT’s Jean P. Powell Honored Educator Scholarship recipients Jesus Centeno of Langdon C. Kerr Elementary School in Clinton City Schools, Clinton, North Carolina and Janet Taylor of Union Middle Schools in the Sampson County Schools district with us in Cullowhee.

This scholarship honors Jean P. Powell, the North Carolina teacher of the year in 1983. While teacher of the year, it was her active voice that prompted North Carolina leaders to create a center for public school teachers. Powell’s idea became a reality two years later when the North Carolina Legislature officially established NCCAT. Mrs. Powell’s four children established this scholarship in honor of their mother. NCCAT’s Jean P. Powell Honored Educator Scholarship pays tribute to her lifelong commitment to the teaching profession. Centeno and Taylor are pictured with NCCAT faculty member Dr. Ernest Johnson. They are attending "Achieving Against The Odds: Focus on Reading" this week.

For more on the NCCAT Honored Educator Scholarship program and how to apply visit…/honored-educator-scholarship-applica…



Get in Touch

Search NCCAT