Skip to main content
Apply Now for NCCAT
Programs Click Here

NCCAT hosts Teacher Leadership Institute: Teacher of the Year program in Ocracoke

2023 NC Teachers of the Year

NCCAT again proudly presented the "Teacher Leadership Institute: Teacher of the Year" program in Ocracoke on Feb. 6-10. North Carolina's 2023 Teachers of the Year were invited to join us in examining educational leadership and positive responses to institutional change. This group spent hours in sessions discovering how to continue their growth as educational professionals. Topics covered included ways to apply their understanding of the dynamic nature of teaching and learning to engage colleagues in challenging conversations to develop appropriate solutions to address persistent issues in North Carolina's PK-12 classroom.

Teacher Leadership Standards

  • Standard I: Teacher leaders demonstrate leadership.
  • Standard II: Teacher leaders support an environment that is respectful of a diverse population of educators.
  • Standard III: Teacher leaders incorporate adult learning strategies and effective teaching/learning practices as they implement change.
  • Standard IV: Teacher leaders facilitate the growth and development of educators.
  • Standard V: Teacher leaders engage in and facilitate reflective practice.

NCCAT Faculty/Staff/Presenters

Karen Sumner, Deputy Executive Director, NCCAT, Cullowhee

Lena O’Neal, Program Specialist, NCCAT, Ocracoke

Alton Ballance, Educational Consultant, Ocracoke

Leah Carper, 2022 NCTOY, Guilford County Schools

Jeremy Gibbs, NCDPI Regional Director

Elizabeth Santamour, 2022 Sandhills Region TOY, Hoke County Schools

Keegan Storrs, 2022 Charter TOY, Roxboro Community Charter School

Ryan Mitchell, 2022 Western Region TOY, Henderson County Schools

Ashtyn Berry, 2022 Southwest Region TOY, Cabarrus County Schools

Blair Rhoades, NCDPI, Director of Communications